• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

camara for a beginner

I have been seeing some of the awesome pics people have been posting in here of waterfowl. I happen to live by a couple open water spots and would like to take pictures and get into the hobby. What would be a good camara to start out with and types of lenses and such. Go easy on me with the words because like i said, im a beginner. Im not looking to spend over $1000. Any help is appreciated.

Hi Mike:

For $1,000, you'll be looking at either the 8 megapixel Canon Rebel XT ($710 where I shop online, body only) or the 6.1 megapixel Nikon D50 ($515 body only where I shop). The megapixel count isn't an issue unless you're making REALLY BIG PRINTS.

I shop at Canoga Camera. You can put the www in front and string the name together and put the usual thing on the end and that'll get you there.

Canon offers a full kit, including body, 18-200mm lens, 1 Gb memory card (memory cards don't come with DSLR cameras), bag and other stuff for $1,169. Nikon offers a similar kit, although with a smaller lens (18-70mm), for a bit over $900.

The kits are handy for a beginner. But you can do as well separately sometimes because they offer stuff you may not need, like the bag, etc.

If you want to do some telephoto work, you'll be looking for a zoom that goes out at least to 200mm. The Canon kit with the zoom covers your full range from 18-200 (wide angle to telephoto). If you go with the Nikon kit, you'd need to pick up one of their telephoto zooms on top of that.

If you get addicted, you'll probably eventually be looking at bigger glass and bigger money.

Either way you go, it's a blast. And we'll be here ready to answer questions as you get more and more involved. grin.gif

Hi Mike!

Quote:

If you get addicted, you'll probably eventually be looking at bigger glass and bigger money.