• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

I am new to ice fishing on the bay, only a few times last year, and don't know where to go. Does anybody know where to head out of and what depth to fish at? What bait and lures to use? We would like to focus on trout and any help would be great!

Beamer

Right now in particular, your best bet for trout is to head off either the Bono Creek area or Washburn. We just got some rain here, so be sure to check the ice conditions as you go. Bono area was fine, with up to 10 inches of ice found in most of the areas. But on the Washburn side, the ice is a lot more variable.

For inshore trout, such as browns and splake... look for hard breaks that are close to shore. Say 12FOW down to 30FOW.. or so one... Fish the break and even up on the shallow flat. As the season progresses, the fish will move deeper, finding optimum oxygen levels.

Lures or choice... stick with jigging spoons and you will definately have the best shot at getting bit. Pimples, Kastmasters, Go-Devils, Lindy Rattler Spoons, Northland Buckshot, etc etc.. Team this with a deadstick or tip-ups and you are good to go.. While jigging, jig at varying depths, as the trout can be just underneath the ice.... or one the bottom... Same with tip-ups, vary their depths..

Good luck out there...

Went out off Bono for about 3 hours with only a couple of hits. Seen a couple of guys land some but the fish just wouldn't hit us hard enough. We moved to Ashland out from the orr dock for the rest of the day with no luck at all. Seen one guy with a nice (27" or 28") walleye on the ice though.