• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Estrous time?

fishin58

I have a big weekend of hunting this weekend thanks to the teachers break, I still have not drawn my bow back this year, have not got a deer close enough. I was thinking of pulling out the estrous for this coming weekend, but is it too early??

I'm fairly new to bowhunting but I don't think so. I've read an article where it says it might not help if the bucks aren't looking but it shouldn't screw you up either. In other words, they won't be repelled from the area, just won't be interested. Trial and error is the way to go in my opinion.

I'put up a scrape dripper with some active scrape (buck and doe in estrus urine) over a mock scrape last week. No realy buck sign but some deer tracks around it so it might be a curiousity if nothing else.

I am thinking i will try puting down some doe scent this weekend myself. I know the bucks are trailing doe now as i have seen it twice. Once in area 225 and once in area 341.

I Grunted a nice 8 point out yesterday morning affter seeing two doe in the same area just 10 minuts earlier. Long story short he never got in range, but very exciting calling him out. He came out fast with the hair standing on the back of his neck. Some of the things you are forced to watch bowhunting. Not complaining I love it.