• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

German shorthair and Viszla differences

Big Dave2

What are the basic differences between a German shorthair and a Viszla? I have hunted once behind a Viszla but never with a GSP. They seem like they would be very similar dogs to me. Same size, temperment, hunting ability. What am I missing?

I'm not a Viszla expert but the ones I've seen seem to be a little softer in temperament than the average GSP. They seem like more of a one person/family dog whereas a GSP will likely go with anyone that comes along. Everyone posts how they need to be around people and in the house so they must bond very close to their master. They are probably not as independent and/or rangy either. These are my observations anyway. I'm sure there are some that can tear it up way out there but I just haven't seen any.

One year we were a Game Fair and the Viszla club was there and a guy had a little female that was just a little sweetheart. She wanted nothing more than to be petted.

In either case GSP or Viszla you'll need to do some homework to find what you want.

gspman

Here is one that I am very qualified to answer. I am a Vizsla owner and my good buddy owns GSP's. I have hunted with both breeds for the better part of 15 years.

Gspman is right, the Vizsla is a dog with a softer temperament. This makes them very easy to train as all they want to do is make you happy. They do need to be around their family and they bond very closely with their family and especially the person who does the training. They do not respond well to a firm hand in training and typically need only minimal correction. They are also very affectionate, and you end up with a 45# lap dog. They also are a calmer dog that won't be bouncing off the walls if you miss a day of excercise.