• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Some questions about hunting the Bear

I have mulling over a hunting trip this fall and I think I have settled on it being a bear hunt. I have no experience and would not be able to run up and bait so I would have to hire an outfitter. Option #1 is doing this in MN. If I do not get drawn in MN I will probably be heading to Montana to do a spot and stalk hunt with a bow, but that is talking some serious coin. So, seeing I know very little about Bear hunting and there are much more knowledgeable people on here I figured I would ask some questions on here.

1. What are some good outfitters? I would prefer to have at least 2 good options in the same zone in case one is booked.

2. Do I even have a chance of drawing a tag with 0 preference points? Also, I was wondering if I can look up past draw statistics on the DNR site? I have looked but have not been able to find anything.

3. Anything you veteran bear hunters would ask an outfitter were you to use one?

4. Any general info a newbie should know about bear hunting?

Thanks for any responses. As I have said, I have no experience with this so it really is appreciated.

Draw stats are on page 10 of the link below. It looks like in 2013 the only place that 1st timers got drawn was area 22 which I think is in the BWCA, and a few in permit area 13 which is part of Koochiching county. Quite a few other stats in there as well.

http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/recreation/hunting/bear/2013_bearharvest.pdf

Draw stats are on page 10 of the link below. It looks like in 2013 the only place that 1st timers got drawn was area 22 which I think is in the BWCA, and a few in permit area 13 which is part of Koochiching county. Quite a few other stats in there as well.

http://files.dnr.state.mn.us/recreation/hunting/bear/2013_bearharvest.pdf