• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

prop waves?

20lbSloughShark

I have been running this outboard for 2 years now. It is a 1984 Johnson 40 hp tiller. One thing that comes up once in a while, is the front edge of the prop will randomly get a "wave" in it. I have never hit rocks, or even sandy bottom. I have dug up mucky bottom plenty of times though. I am wondering what exactly is causing these. The thing is, its not like they show up after I hit bottom. Usually its after a typical day, and out of the blue, there is a new one. I think there are 5 or so now. I'd say about an 1" wide, and no evidence that it hit something like a crack or scraping. Its just a wave in the prop. I don't notice performance changes yet. I have a spare prop, what is happening to cause this? I'll see if I can get pictures up this weekend.

Guys I know will say its the age of the motor and suggest to buy a newer 4 stroke w/stainless steel prop. I don't know if that is the solution here. Is it possible that you are hitting something in the mud/muck? Clams can cause a lot of damage, especially the bearded ones.

Guys I know will say its the age of the motor and suggest to buy a newer 4 stroke w/stainless steel prop. I don't know if that is the solution here. Is it possible that you are hitting something in the mud/muck? Clams can cause a lot of damage, especially the bearded ones.

Chunks of wood can be in the muck also. If you want a ss prop, buy one for the motor you have.

But I don't quite get what you mean by "waves" in the prop. Like material missing? Or the leading edge is bent?

Chunks of wood can be in the muck also. If you want a ss prop, buy one for the motor you have.

But I don't quite get what you mean by "waves" in the prop. Like material missing? Or the leading edge is bent?

I don't follow either. I think we need a picture.