• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Buying an ATV--What Brand?

HOGEYE

I am looking to buy an ATV. It will either be new or new used. I have never owned one before but will use it for hunting and fishing ect. My father owns a 99 Sportsman500. I love how it rides but he has had it into the shop numerous times. I've noticed that the Arctic Cats have good clearance. If anyone could give me some reviews I would like to hear all sides (Polaris, Cats, Yam, Honda ect.) Thanks for your input.

HOGEYE, if you back to the ATV Users forum and go to the "show topics list" box on the upper right, open that and ask to "show the last year's topics list". There are some good discussions on new and old machines on there. Some are around May of 2002. Good Luck.

I've had a lot of experience in Kawasaki (1990 decade models), Arctic Cat and Honda. I can honestly say I love them all. My family and relatives owns, or has owned many machines since the 3 wheeler first came out way back when.
Our '96 Cat 454 is like a tank and never skips a beat. Same with the '90 and '95 Kawasakis.
I wanted the new Cat 500I, but I found a used Honda Foreman that I couldn't pass on with all the goodies I needed. Ride the 500I on rough terrain and you might be happy with the fully independent suspension w/ 12" of clearance.
Good luck and have fun trying out all the machines!