• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ducks on the Wing?

I am very new to photography and I really like to take shots of ducks on the wing. I see some great shots on this forum and was wondering how to get my own shots like this. I am wondering what type of glass I should look to purchase and what type of shots I should expect without any cropping or editing on the computer.

I appreciate all the help and I have learned a lot just going through all of these topics over the past few months.

might have to spend a lot of money if not cropping or editing. even then it can be tough. Personally I see nothing wrong with cropping and editing. The finished pic is what I alike however it's done. Just my .02 welcome aboard! smile

First off welcome to the photography world! You will have a great time with your new hobby! First off glance through the sticky at the top of this forum Photography Basics

A read through that will be helpful and get you started on lenses that will work as starters, etc. After that come back here and ask away if you want more specifics.

You may also find some good information located HERE

Thanks for the links. I read all of those and have read a few books. After reading all of info, I was wondering about lens speed. I took a few pictures yesterday of ducks on the wing and I will try to post them when I take them of the card. What I noticed is that most of my picts are not really sharp, and the few that are a lot better, they still are not really tack sharp. Just wondering if that is what I will get with the zoom lens that I have. It is the basic beginner 75-300mm Canon lens. Sorry for all of the questions, just this place as some really knowledgeable people that can help a newbie out.