• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Carolina Rig

Lals

I have very little experience with this technique. I would like to give this a good try next year. Anyone have any advice on rod, line, structure, lures, etc. that you find successful?

Just trying to pass some time until next season... Man that is a long way off.

Carolina rigging can be one of the best ways to find and fish off shore structure. For the rod, longer is usually better. 7' MH can do the job, but longer can help. I use a 7'6" flipping stick when I actually carolina rig, I do a modified carolina rig I call a stupid rig and often throw it on a 7'MH. But my rig uses a smaller weight that is pegged and a shorter leader so, the 7' rod works fine, when using a longer leader and heavier rod, the longer flipping stick works best for me. Line, go with something heavy and has good abrasion, many use braid to floro leader. 50lb braid works well. I also use just 20 floro as main and leader, and 17-25 mono too. if just getting started, go with the 50 lb braid.. as for the meat(lure) anything goes, tubes are my fave, but lizzards, beavers, creature baits all work.

have fun!

Hiya -

I don't fish C-rigs nearly as much as I used to - football jigs have kind of replaced them in some of the situations I used to fish them in - but I used to fish them a lot, and still do on occasion. I had one day this past season where C-rigs were 'it' for smallies, and when it's on, it's on with them.

Particulars: Kind of the classic C-rig spots are hard bottom points, etc.