• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Newbie advice

basssmasher*

Heres the deal, I came here becuase you all give the bEST advice on fishing over all other fishing sights, so here goes.. Im a non-boater joining a club, and they dont draw lakes until the thrus before the sun tourney. seeing im new to the lakes we will fish but not new to bass fishing, what advice can one give me being in the back end of the boat? is it like i throw something totally diff than the boater or same rig diff color? i love fishing tubes and not the best at spinnerbait/cranks, my choice i wanna fish plastic but I know I have to adapt also.. help please!

Hey teejay -

Don't fish back boat in tournaments really, but just based on fishing out of other people's boats from time to time, I think the main thing is to try to have the tools available that can keep you versatile without having to bring the kitchen sink. Unless you know who you're fishing with ahead of time and can communication with them and find out a little about their style and how they like to fish...kind of have to be ready for anything. So pick baits that are pretty versatile like jigs, spinnerbaits, swim jigs, etc., that you can fish in a variety of cover conditions and at a variety of speeds. You still have to fish to your strengths of course, but you might have to adapt what you like to do a little. Hard to fish plastics really slow if the driver likes to move at Mach 2...just as an example. But you can pitch and snipe the same plastic pretty quickly with a few adjustments.

Main thing though - don't bring every rod and tackle box you own smile

BTW - been meaning to track you down, but your PM box is full. Drop me an email at kimm dot rob at gmail dot com. Gotta talk to you about some fishing down by Sanborn. smile

Cheers,

Rob Kimm