• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Looking to Buy a new Camera

Hey All,

I figured I come as the professional what i should look for. I am sick of buy the small digital cameras that only last a year. So its time to spend some money and buy a good one.

Looking to see what you all have. I dont want o drop 1000's a dollors, but i want to get a good on. Im looking at the bigger black ones, such as nikon or cannon, but again, im a wet behind the ears as anyone when it comes to looking at these.

Was going to go to best buy today and look.

Please advise

BNS

I have had pretty good luck with Ritz Camera (online). I have a Rebel and a Nikon D70 (slightly older). The Rebel has more megapixels by far, but I think the Nikon takes better pics. I am no expert by any means, but I don't think you can go wrong with Canon or Nikon.

All the manufacturers are making good DSLR's these days. What you need to do is put each camera in your hand and see how it feels, the control layout, the menu structure and decide which you feel comfortable with. You are buying into a system so to speak. Lenses, flash systems, other camera bodies all can factor in your decision on which brand.

At this point you likely have no idea what your future needs might be, so again go back and look at the camera's and see how they feel to you. Don't get hung up on pixel count, or video capability. Find the body in your price range and go from there. The Rebel is a very good starter setup, Nikon, Sony, Pentax all make cameras that are good starters.

After you get closer to narrowing you choices post again and some folks will provide you with feedback on your specific choices. Have fun shopping!