• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What to look for in an AR? Varmint/target shooting

Lately I've been torn between shopping for a handgun or getting an AR style rifle.

I've sort of decided on shopping for the rifle since it will have more than one use including for hunting. They are also more versatile.

So, being a complete newb to the carbine guns, where does someone begin? I try to learn as much as I can here, but people start talking about bull barrels and uppers and lowers and my head starts spinning. Are there any companies that make a decent complete gun that is quality enough for varmint hunting, but won't break the bank. I'd like to stay under $1000. I realize that's tough, especially considering the price of good glass, but when I see a good box rifle from savage or t/c or Tikka for the $500 range I have to believe its possible.

Olympic Arms, K8, 20" stainless steel barrel, 1:9 twist. should be able to get one for under 800 bucks, leaves enough money for scope rings and almost a scope (I have the burris 3-9x40 with balistic plex and it works well. I wished I had gone for the 4-12 though) Mike Mili in the Brainerd area is who I bought mine from. On the AR forums he goes by Dtech. His business is called Dedicated Technologies and I have sent two other friends to him for their AR's. Olympic makes most of their components like the recievers and barrels. most companies order these parts and slap their name on them. DPMS makes a great model too.

Yes the bull barrel is not light, but it is not like you are lugging around a 50 cal. Barret. I find the extra weight helpful when shooting off of sticks, off hand it is a little barrel heavy though.......

Are there any companies that make a decent complete gun that is quality enough for varmint hunting, but won't break the bank.