• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stand location on small public parcel

BoxMN

So I am new at this bow stuff smile

I am going to hunt a small state forest land, about 40 acres total. It is narrow and long, with lake on one side and swamp on the other. So it limits places to go without walking through the whole thing.

There is one other group (two young guys I think) who hunt it and occassinally a truck I haven't seen before. The young guys leave one stand up all year, and I will most likely hunt in the vicinity. How close is too close? If they are not there (they only hunted after the rifle season last year, but I am duck hunting all October, so not really sure how much it gets used then) it is no prob.

But if I get out earlier than them, and I use my climber about 50 yards away, is that too close? I am just off a logging trail, and so are they. I will try to talk to them ahead of time anyway, I know them a bit. But just wondering cause I go farther down I just think I would be spooking chit away. Anyway, new to hunting deer on public land, and also new to bows. Thanks for thoughts.

ps, I will hunt it about 2 weekends in Sept.(one day each weekend) maybe one in October, and then after rifle season, so not like I will out there a ton.

i would definitely talk to them. If I were in their position I might be peeved about a stand 50 yards away, despite public land.

you might even share knowledge with each other, learn something good!

edit - I would think on a small parcel, if you have several parties hunting that close, you're bound to push deer out