• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Wild/NHL Draft

Bear55

1st Round Friday, June 24th - 6pm on Versus

Rounds 2-7 on Saturday - 10am to 1:30pm

I am no draft expert but I like to keep tabs on things and get a general feel for what is happening, plus drafts are just cool and you can't beat free talent.

Word on the "street" is 2011 is a very deep draft, some even saying it is comparable to the crazy deep 2003 drat but maybe lacking the star power of that draft. Good players can be had 45 to 50 picks deep, which kind of sucks because we don't have a 2nd round pick but maybe that will all change by Saturday. There is also a kind of consensus top 8-9 players who are grouped just ahead of the pack, which sounds about right because the wild pick 10th. Hopefully a top player can drop to us, or maybe we can find that guy picked in the middle of the first round who develops into a stud. I could also see us trading back and trying to pick up a 2nd round pick.

So who would you like the wild to pick up?

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It would be nice if we could pick up Ryan Strome. But, he would need to drop 3 places for that to happen.

If you look at the guys who are ranked in the late1st and 2nd rounds, a lot of them are goal scoring wingers. The downside is that the scouts saw a lack of effort from them. It would be risky to move down to a lower 1st and 2nd in exchange for our high 1st, but the payoff could be good if we got a couple of these types of guys and developed them into real NHL goal scoring wingers...which we are in severe lack of.

I wonder with the plethora of D-man prospects we have, would we consider trading for another second to pick up one of these guys. That is if anyone would do it.