• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Need help with changing lower unit gear oil

bowhunt

Hey guys,

I am new to the whole boat motor maintenance thing, so please bare with me. I bought a little 12' fishing boat last yeat with a 6 horse Johnsons sea horse motor. I figure I should probably change the gear oil before I get it up and running for the summer but I have never done this before. I have watched a few videos showing how to change it but here are my questions.

First what kind of oil do I need to buy, does this depend on the size and make of the motor or is the gear oil universal?

Second, where is the best place to buy it, do I need to go to a marine dealer to get it, or can I pick it up at a walmart or something similar?

Third, Do I need to buy a special attachment to connect to the drain plug hole to be able to pump the gear oil into the bottom drain hole? If I need something where would I go to get it, and is this dependant on the make and model of the motor?

Thanks for the help,

Bowhunt

For a little 6hp, it probably doesn't matter about using a specially-made Johnson oil. However, that's for older motors. Newer ones made in the last 10 years might need something special. However, in general, all you need is marine grade lower-unit / gearcase oil. You'll find that at most boat shops, fleet farm, etc.

For a small motor like that, you don't need a pump. You can just cut the tip off of the bottle and squeeze the oil through the lower hole until you see the oil coming out of the top hole. Once that happens (and keeping the bottle nozzle in the bottom hole), insert the top plug into place and tighten. Then pull the bottle out of the bottom hole and insert the plug there as well. Keep a piece of cardboard under the motor as some oil will spill no matter what.