• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How much should a 2010 boat be discounted?

h8go4s

I'm looking at buying a new boat, motor & trailer this fall, to be delivered next spring. The 2011 models are out, but I found a 2010 rig. I'm wondering how much I should expect them to knock off on a $15,000 package. I'm not very good at haggling, so I usually end up wondering if I paid too much.

Ron.

Being that you are ordering it start by offering them a lowball figure and see what they come back at......if you don't like the reply or for that matter even if you like their price wait a couple days and come back with another price and see if you can get it lower.....if they don't budge on the price either take it or shop around some more

I think it depends more of what you are buying. If it is a popular model, then the dealer just may be content to let it stay on the lot until spring when demand picks up. If it is a brand that isn't regionally popular the dealer may want to unload it. My rule of thumb is to make a low but reasonable offer. Worst that can happen is that the answer is no. My guess is the best you will be able to do on a $15K boat is 10%. As suggested I would put some effort into getting some additional equipment put on the boat in lieu of a discount. Dealers usually have lots of left over trolling motors, depth finders, batteries, etc. which are becoming obsolete because of the new models on the way . Also try to get things like extra seats, upgrade in trailer, cover, spare tire, etc. All the extras adds up.