• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Barometric Pressure

fire29

Who knows about it? How to read it? And how to use it to our advantage? Does any one have their own journals and research to prove yeah or neah barometric pressurse does or does not affect hunting whitetails. I have been hunting deer for 26 years and never paid attention to the pressure, because if I have had time to hunt I do it. More time in the woods the better...Right?? But now I am trying to corrilate deer activity, to other things {weather, moon, etc}. Just curious, I have been doing some research and would like to hear what you think. Or know. I understand hunting before and after rain or snow should be better. Im just wondering if anyone knows details, like numbers that may help us all. Hopefully this can be a learning experience for more than just me. Thanks.

Barometric pressure is really a simple measurement. Without getting technical, get a barometer and read the thing. 28 millimeters is really low, 30.5 mm would be high. But look at the skies. If they are clear, generally that indicates high pressure, clouds would be associated with low pressure. Water vapor, contrary to what one might think, is acutally less dense than dry air. Hence, the generally lower readings when humidity rises, and high humidity is associated with clouds. So I know how to read it. Sometimes ahead a a storm (falling barometer) deer might be unusually active, presumably an instinct to put on the feed bag ahead of harsh weather. But other than that, I cannot tell you how deer react to the barometer.

So how far before some weather does it affect the barometer? And how quickly after does it affect it? They say to watch the barometer and when it starts rising or falling get in your stand. Just wondering if it is a gradual thing or if it is all of the sudden.