• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Carrots Ready?

Scott M

Total newbie question for your master gardener, horticulturist types...when are carrots ready to be picked? Mine were supposed to be ready at 75 days, I pulled one up and it was about 2 inches long. Did I do something wrong, should I give them more time? Never grew carrots before so its all new to me...

Thanks in advance.

I just dig my finger down into the soil around the top of the carrot and see how big the top is. If the top is wide, then I pick it. Really depends on the variety, though. Some carrot varieties are wide on top and taper steadily down to the tip. Others are narrower on top and have bodies that are the same diameter all the way down, ending suddenly in a quick tip.

I generally grow the latter (Danvers half long), since I plant in raised beds that have about a foot of soil in them and the larger varieties sometimes need more soil than that. I harvested all three rows of carrots last week, and they were almost all full-sized, with only one or two dinks. Since the bed I grow carrots in is a bit sandier than the other beds (carrots and radishes appreciate lighter soil), I wanted to get them out of there to plant a late radish crop. Otherwise, there's no hurry harvesting carrots regarding ripeness. Lots of folks just leave them in until fall, and some leave them to freeze over winter and harvest them in spring. They claim they are sweeter that way. I don't know about that. I like carrots so much I never wait until spring. smile

Do you know which variety you are growing?