• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Archery Bear Stand setup

I saw someone reference the perfect setup for good clean kills over a bait staion. Can someone give the quick tips on shot angle/stand height with distance to get good clean shots that miss the shoulder blade?

I am no expert and it has been many years since I did my hunt and could use a refresher. There are many good experienced hunters and guides that frequent this sight and I would love to hear their perfect setup grin

When I gve it a shot a few years back my setup was a 15 foot ladder stand to the height of the seat- shooting from the sitting position. My bait was slightly uphill 4 feet higher ground than where my stand sat and about 10-12 yards from the bait. I had a bow hook hanging overhead that had three sections and with a slight move I could reach up and grab the bow in one smooth motion. I had several Balsam trees behind me and breaking up my outline.

How about if rifle hunting?

I love reading the bear hunting posts. I like Jonny P's comment about orange paint for the clients instead of bear spray wink

My opinion would be to duplicated what you would for deer,but the more experienced bear bow hunters could give you a better senario than I. I taken only one bear with a bow. With a rifle or ML I like to be back about 35-40 yards an 15' up. At that distance from the site you can get away with little more of the uncomfortable sitting cramps adjustments an your scent is father away which is a plus. My bow bear was taken at 15 steps from the base of my tree, I was 15 feet up an he came in at a perfect broad side angle, stuck his nose in the bacon pot an sshup! dead bear. Good luck boar.