• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

1997 XLT Special

vman11

Hey guys -

I'm a newb when it comes to sleds so I'm looking for some basic info. I just bought a 97 XLT Special with 2900 miles from a reliable buddy.

Everything runs good and the 600 absolutely rips! Is there anything I should be concerned about or should look into regarding PM regarding this sled? I've heard bad things about the triples.

The sled is going to be a work horse - pulling my portable around as I don't plan on racing/jumping the thing.

I think I'm going to look into new/recharging the front and rear shocks as I don't think they've had any attention ever.

Any info is good info- let me know.

if your just pulling a fish house around i prolly wouldnt even mess with the front shocks seeing you prolly wont go over 20mph... id say keeping the carbs and fuel system clean would be a good thing to keep a eye on... ive heard all kinds of horrer stories about the triples but i have friends with them that have had zero problems with them with over 9,000 miles just seems like keeping up on maintiance is the main thing

My 95 is stock and original yet other than maybe some clutch work, with over 5000 and counting. You gotta go open it up those old tripples flat out fly. It will surprize many a new 700-800 sled. Shut the gas off between rides they do have a tendancy to leak through the carbs. Many of these sleds of that vintage running around this area yet, I wouldn't mind a second just for giggles.