• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

The perfect Spear House

Kiecker

As many of you know I am a rookie at spear fishing and have fallen in love with the sport. I have decided that I need to build my own spear house this summer, but with limited experience I was wondering what you guys think is the perfect house?

I was wondering what is the right size for a two man permanant house?

What are the essentials to make the house warm and comfortable?

What would you use as construction materials and would you recommend wheels or a skid system?

These are my three main questions but any other input would be greatly appreciated.

I have a 4'x8'. It is a bit narrow but works fine for spearing. Fairly easy to move on skids.

I would do a 6'x6' if I rebuilt and wanted to keep it light. A little more room for basically the same weight and you can have a lot more leg room and/or room behind your back.

I used 2x3 cedar studs, thin galvinized metal for roofing and OSB (3/16"??) for sheeting. 1" yellow insulation between studs. A buddy heater keeps it toasty and I can move the heater around to make room depending on whether I am speaing or angling.

Elwood, Laska, and I had this same conversation on Saturday in the spear house.

I think the best we could come up with is that there is no perfect Spear house that fits every person every time. There are many variables that go into making the right spearhouse for you.

At least you know you are looking for a two man permanent house so that answers some of the questions right off the bat.

Here are some common floor layouts

4307134304_4162602632_o.jpg

I currently have layout #1 it is nice but; when the spearer in the back needs to get out of the house the spearer in the front needs to move out of his way. Two doors would help that issue.