• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Live vs Fake

Jigging55

Alright Im new to spearing im in the Bemidji area havent got a clue what to use I know what lake im going to give a try but I don't know what I should use a sucker minnow with harnes or a carved bright decoy or a daredevil teaser w/ golf ball any trick or tip would be great looking for some guidence I alreay have one of the best saws Fish's Ice Saw so getting throught the ice wont be a problem at least.

Jigging 55, I like both a sucker and a decoy 90% of the time. Some days the fish will come in to just the sucker, some days to just the decoy, some days they will hit each equally, some days this won't come in at all! If the fish aren't coming in, try on or the other for an hour each...still nothing? Move.

The key is to experiment, but my typical set up is a sucker at mid-depth on one side of the hole, than a decoy on the other side about a foot lower than the sucker. If the sucker sits idle too long, I prod the line to keep him moving fairly often. As for the decoy, start it off slow and give it a few spins around every 15 minutes. Some say jig more, others less, but 15 minutes is just a starting point--let the fish tell you what they like.

I have a similiar question whats better a weighted harness or a clip that goes through the skin to hold the sucker on? Is there benefit to one over the other? Sorry to steal your post but I think this might help us both?

mr

I like both a sucker and a decoy 90% of the time. Some days the fish will come in to just the sucker, some days to just the decoy, some days they will hit each equally, some days this won't come in at all! If the fish aren't coming in, try on or the other for an hour each

I agree.

Most times for me it is a live and a decoy.

Sometimes I use the BnS rig and put the live sucker under the decoy.