• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Broadheads for arrows

MUSKY18

Hi all:

Let me start by saying that I am new to the bow hunting game. Usually only gun hunt, but recently bought my first bow setup. It came complete and ready to go. It is nothing fancy, but here is my question. The bow is a PSE Nova4, and it came with Easton 2413 Superlite arrows. The arrows came with field tips that screw in. I am going to purchase some broadheads so I can get out in the woods and bow hunt for the rest of the season. Are all screw in broadheads the same size and will screw into my arrows or is there a specific size i need to be looking for? Also, what is you recommended grain for broadheads? I was looking at Muzzy 100gr 4-blade to use. Don't know if it makes a difference, but my bow is a 30 inch draw and set at 68 pounds right now. Thanks again.

i have heard better things about the muzzy 100 grain 3 blade.i don't know how much practice time you have in but make sure you are grouping well at the distance you plan on shooting which i would try to keep at 20 yards or less if you are just starting out.also shoot your broadheads before you head out to make sure they are shooting right on.good luck,take your time,wait for your shot and remember to breathe.let us know how things work out for you.

Pretty much any commercial broadhead will screw into your insert (aluminum tip on the end of your arrow.) As far as weight. match whatever the shop setup your pratice tips at (75-125 grains), most likely they are 100 grain. There are a lot of great broadheads out there, any Muzzys are great.

Don't get wrapped up in all of the hype about the broadheads that cost $14 a peice either. Any broadhead sent through the boiler room of a deer WILL KILL IT, PERIOD! The deer doesn't care if your broadhead cost $3 or $50.