• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New to fishing, Advice please

Mike.May

When I was a kid I always used to go fishing with my grandpa. He passed away this last year, and in his memory I got all his old fishing gear. Im trying to get back into the sport, and even have a nice little 14 lone star aluminum boat and all the gear. Please offer some advice if you would for fishing this time of year. Is it better trolling now, or are the fish trying to stay warm and are thus up in the shallows in the hotter parts of the day (like the early afternoon). any advice would be helpful. Also, what is everyone using? spinner's? crankbaits? By the way, looking for Bass and Northerns. I'm not a total newbie, I was just always told where and how to fish, and it was a long time ago...

Hey Mike, welcome to Fishing Minnesota. I'm far from an expert, but you couldn't go too wrong right now by slowly trolling a good wobbling crankbait or something with flash just outside the weedline. That's for Northerns, as for Bass, I don't fish them and I consider Bass fishermen as a lower form of life.(giggle, giggle.) Really, I think pitching plugs into the holes in the weeds a possiblity.