• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Brook Trout

hector00

Where is the best area in southeast minnesota where a person has a chance of catching atleat a 16" brook trout. I have been fishing the area for 20 years and I have caught thousands of brookies but can't get anything bigger than a 12 incher.

Couldn't tell ya, I've seen some huge ones over in Wisconsin though. Good luck getting anybody to even cough up a creek name or even a county to start lookin in smile

big trout in the cannon, eh? I know the little cannon has trout, but i've never fished either of them. Marginal trout water always seems to have the biggest fish though

You'll have a hard time keepin the smallies off but when ya get one you'll be suprized.If ya fish it float it and fish every stream,brook that enters it.On inspecting the streams that enter it I've seen brookies 4-7 lbs.But I spent lots of time there!!

Probably mid to late summer when everyone else gave up!I spent LOTS of time wandering those hills since bout 1961,I saw mountain lions down there in 63 no one believed me till the kinneys from the store in egglestrom saw it! also pretty much grew up there right where the nuck plant is.Now I dont get there as much as I want and too many people,trout brook was my fav.Do you remember when some outdoor club raised trout in the swimming pool in CannonFalls and released them in to the Cannon?? One night we raided it while in highschool got rainbows and brookies 3-8 lbs Great BBQ.HaHa

Awesome, so you never hunted on the resi land then! they want a bike path right down eggleston trail, that will definetly change the area from what you are used too. Did you go to hastings or red wing for school at all?