• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

MAX HP Rating

redogman67

I have a 1973 14' forester trihull that says the max hp motor is 30hp. I have a 25 hp on it now but lower unit is done for. So I have an opportunity to buy a 1979 johnson 35 hp with controls for $500. Do you think going 5 over the max horesepower would cause much of a problem, I cant see how it would but, i am no expert grin . and does it seem like a decent deal?

If I am not mistaken, the 25, 30 and 35 hp johnson/rude motors of that vintage are about all the same. I have a '96 25hp rude, and it is basically the same as the 35 of the older motors. Rated at the prop, that 35 is probably less power than a 25 of today, or pretty close.

That said, they have the ratings for a reason, and I could not recommend going over it... but.... wink realistically there is no difference... IMHO...

Yeah I can't really see how it could be too dramatic of a difference, but just wanted some more opinions because its an older boat I am a bit worried about the transom strength but I bet they figured in some room for error when they rated it 30hp, I doubt they would rate it at the very edge of what it could handle safely. I think I will prob go for it if it turns out to be decent(haven't seen it yet, but told its clean)