• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

? about studded track

cliffy

Let me start of by saying that I am rather new to the snowmobile world. In the past, I have always had to borrow a friends sled if I wanted to go riding..so I have limited experience.

I recently bought my first sled (used Yamaha) and I noticed the paddles (or whatever you call it) on the track were rather worn down. A buddy came over tonight and measured and they are about a half inch or less.

My buddy has offered to sell me and install a one inch studded track (about 225 studs). I have driven a sled in the past that was studded and I liked the stopping ability.

I reviewed the DNR HSOforum on the rules and if I understand it correctly, there are certain paved trails that studded tracks are not allowed? I guess I have never driven on any of them...as most of my riding is done on the lake or trails in a local State Park.

What are the pro and cons of a studded track? How many of you have studded tracks...and should I go for it? Thanks for any help.

Cliffy

Are there studs on the outer edge of the track? With that many, I am guessing there are. Thats real agressive, and running them on the outer edge, tends to destroy the track if they rip out. I have always used a non-studded track, but when you get the slush on the lake or when its icy, they sure would come in handy. also, if you are running in low snow or icy conditions, I would pick up a set of ice scratchers. they will save slides and cool you machine more effectively.

Good question...and I dont know the answer to it. He did stay it was a rather aggressive studded track...so you are probably correct.

Ice Scrathers? What is that?

Thanks for the info.

Cliffy