• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Alpha300 Tips, Use, Help...?

Ace

Hi all,

So, I'm new to the whole SLR camera setup. I read the basics post already for some tips, but I am still learning. Previously I had a cybershot 5 megapixel point and shoot, so I have a lot of learning to do.

The wife and I are heading to Hawaii over Christmas break and we picked up this camera to hopefully take some great pics of our trip. I don't know much about the camera other than the 'auto' setting is pretty handy:-) I have played with it some, and will be taking an intro class from NCE, but I was hoping you veterans out there could give me some tips or lessons learned during your experience. A lot of pics will be landscape, nature, animals, and some of me fishing:-), possibly also some pics from a helicopter, etc.

Any bits of wisdom that you have picked up along the way would be awesome, things to watch out for, techniques to try, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated!! I know I really need to play around more to feel it out, but time is limited as we leave in 16 days. Also, anything I need to know in terms of care in the climate of Hawaii??

We picked up the 18-70 lens and the 75-300.

Thanks in advance,

--Ace.

Ace,congratulations on the camera! You are on the right track by reading the basic sticky. I would stick with that for now and try and shoot as much as you can over the next few weeks.

If you want to post some of your work after you take some shots we can help you with suggestions at that time.

Climate care in Hawaii, the biggest thing to watch for will be the salt water. Be careful not to get spray on the camera. I keep a towel in my pocket at all times in a saltwater environment to wipe down the lens and camera. This is one of the few times I use a filter on the front of the lens.