• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Neck injuries

reddog

Well, I'm relatively new to the hockey scene, as my daughter is dating a college goalie.

They are at the Wild game tonight.

I rememeber at one of her boyfriends games this year, a shot came in high on the goal, he reached up to block and while he was looking up I seen nothing but neck exposed in a flurry of players, sticks and skates. It scared the [PoorWordUsage] out of me at the time, but what do I know about this sport? Nothing. It just kind of locked into my brain at the time

After watching all 3 game of Mavericks vs Gophers(tremendous effort on both squads, by the way) later on that night on the same channel (FSN) , there was a sport show, highlighting and documenting all kinds of sports injuries. Bean balls in baseball, bat backs etc. .

but the most gruesome thing I seen, was the Clint Malarchek video. Now, I see that last month, Richard Zednick suffered a neck injury also. Watching these injuries about made me pass out, they are that gruesome and happen that fast.

I realize the Malarchek incident was almost 20 years ago. but

Over the years, Ive ( along with my wife and daughter) witnessed 3 racers die of injuries in a crash, but somehow this footage gets to me worse than any of those events. I dont know what it is, but I just know this bothers me.

Should I be bothered by this, or am I getting soft? ( dont answer that!)

It's just crazy to see blood come gushing out of someone with that velocity......I only watched each incident one time and that was all I could handle.

You are not getting soft at all I will say I'd be more concerned about the daughter dating a goalie.....they tend to be a bit flaky....... grin.gif