• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Crestliner Sportfish

BigWormin

I'm currently looking at purchasing a mid 90's Crestliner Sportfish, it's 17 1/2 feet with a 130hp inboard. Have any of you ever ridden in or owned one of these boats? It looks like a fairly big/deep boat, does 130hp push it well? Any positives or negatives to having an inboard? I've had a 40hp outboard my whole life so I have no experience with an inboard.

I'd like to hear anybodies thoughts/experiences positive or negative about this style boat.

Thanks!

BW,

Inboards aren't very popular in the upper midwest with these type of boats. This is an outboard market. Personally, unless it's one heck of a deal, I'd shy away. There's plenty of Sportfish, Tropy's, Fishermen/Tyee's out there with quality outboards.

Shorelunch is right with respect to I/O's popularity in the upper midwest, or at a minimum in MN / ND / SD, etc.

A couple of things to consider on an I/O:

1) Winterizing is a bit more difficult, or maybe time consuming would be a better word. You have to remove frost plugs at a minimum, and better yet, take off some hoses & splash RV antifreeze in them

2) If your outdrive doesn't have greasless gimble bearings you'll want to remove the outdrive and grease them. Again, not difficult, but certainly time consuming

Advantages:

1) It's basically a vehicle engine under the hood, so working on motor related problems if you're mechancially inclined isn't much more difficult than working on your vehicle.

In the end though, I agree with Shorelunch. Hold off until you can find a outboard version.

marine_man