• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Summer Job??

I am very interested in heading up to alaska over the summer and most likely work at a processing plant, but I'd really to find a boat to get on and be out on the water.

I have A LOT of inland fishing experience but nothing offshore so what do you think my chances of finding some kind of deckhand position would be?

And any information would be great. I've been reading a ton of stuff on the internet, its just always better to talk to someone with actual experience so it'd be great if anyone could help me out here.

I wanted to get on a boat when I first went up there 20+ years ago and had no luck. I worked several years in a processing plant and I was fine with that decision. In the plants you get health insurance and probably steadier hours. What I did learn to you need to do to get on a boat is to put the hours in on the docks and the bars. However you have to use the bar route with a grain of salt. You can make some good contacts but they don't want drunks, although alot of people who work the boats have been known to have their moments. Most boats hire people they know or people that are recommended. The good captains (where you will actually make good money) have experience people lining up to try and get on their boats. If you hook up with a bad captain it can be very dangerous with not much money to be made. If you get an offer on a boat, ask the captain a bunch of questions. The other key would be to get to the docks early in the year as they are getting the boats ready for the season. That is harder to do now with the quota system they have going now. Good luck and enjoy the adventure. If you work the plants you will meet a bunch of great people. I still get together yearly with a bunch of guys I met up in AK.