• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

River fishing

TonkaBass

So has anyone been fishing the mississippi lately, if not when can a guy start fishing it. I am new to river fishing, but want to start trying it. Also, I just got my lower unit fixed last year and dont want to encounter that problem again. Is navagation difficult? Pools 4 and 5

Tonka,

Navigation itself is not terribly difficult on pools 4 & 5 if you are within the bounds of the main channel. The channel is well marked with red and green bouys. Once you venture outside the main channel, you best know where you are going if you want to run it. Idling through the backwaters is my best recommendation. In fact, I believe many places are marked no wake, but someone correct me if I am wrong.

As for river bass fishing, a guy could write chapters about that. Two things I can think of as good tips are the following. Strong current over shallow flats can make for some real good smallmouth fishing. Riprap banks on slow days are another favorite target of mine, but fish them top to bottom (shallow to the base). Not every bass is a bank hugger on a river.

Pool 4 and 5 - prolly end of April depending on if we ever get above freezing.

Be carefull when going in the backwater like Ray said. Dead heads are all over and some places get inches deep. But the dead heads can hold fish to. Some back waters hold bass and some hold carp.

I'm excited to get down there to.