• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Fan-cooled or liquid-cooled for ice fishing?

Hookmaster

I'm thinking of getting a used snowmobile for ice fishng. I'd like a 2-up with reverse and electric start. The main question is what would perform better fan-cooled or liquid-cooled? I have very little experience with the pros and cons of either. Again this would be used almost exclusively for ice fishing in temps above 0 degress.

Personally, I would never buy a fan cooled. A liquid cooled will perform a lot better in my opinion and they are faster. Fan cooled sleds will not well if it gets too warm out, where liquids will run in 60 degree warmth. I would go with the liquid if it were me,

I think it depends on what kind of conditions you use it in. The advantage of a fanner is that if there is not a lot of snow on the ice, your engine will stay cool. In a liquid cooled model, snow must be kicked up on the heat registers under the sled for the coolant to be kept under normal operating temps. If your using a fanner without any snow on the ice you will put a lot of wear on the hyfax slides and will have to replace them often, unless your going to use some aftermarket ice scratchers that kick up ice/snow on the slides. It seems like with the weak winters we have been having, your better off with an ATV. You can use them year round and they also have lots of accessories to carry your gear (including the ice auger).

So if there is little to no snow the liquid-cooled sled won't be cooled and the slides will wear. With a fan just the slides will wear unless you put some scrapers on. It looks like the nod goes to the fan-cooled.