• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Getting them to commit - Ice edition

PikeTipper

I'm sure everyone has had the same scenario, those crappies that will follow your jig all the way up from 20ft down to 2ft from the ice and then just stop. I've tried changing jigs/bait and never seem to have any luck getting them to bite.

Any tips you guys can share?

It would depend on the conditions I might not even change jigs maybe just color, jigging action, lift speed or drop speed. Im not too experienced with that deep of water but thats usually where I start. If they aren't biting on the rise try stopping when raising it or even start dropping it if they are going to bite thats generally when I get mine to bite. If that doesn't work just lifting a few inches above them and slowly twitching will usually seal the deal if that doesn't work i'd give up on that hole and try the next one.

I would say two things... either change your presentation to a more aggressive approach or move to a new spot.

It's clear to me that those fish are not entirely sluggish, so maybe what you need is to present something more appealing to them? Try upsizing to a size 4 Ratso or a 2-inch Power Minnow or something along those lines. Give them a porterhouse instead of a medallion smile.gif

And in regards to moving, if you spend too much time over one hole without a bite, regardless whether or not there's fish there you need to make a move. Somewhere there are more active fish, you just have to find them...

yea it is really an expariment if you can bring them up that high maybe just stop jigging after you get them up there. or something like that...many people over jig there lures. It is a great way to bring the fish in but sometimes just letting it sit for about 10 seconds will do the trick.

My 2 cents.

Ryan