• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

fishing tackle

mrcarp

HI PRETTY NEW TO ICE FISHING. CAN YOU GUYS HELP ME WITH TACKLE ARE CUSTOM JIGS AND SPINS GOOD. HOW ABOUT GENZ TACKLE, I'VE TRIED JIGGING RAPS AND SPOONS NEVER CAUGHT I FISH YET. I FISH FOR SUNNIES SOME CRAPPIE. I DONT FISH FOR PIKE OR WALLEYE. ANY HELP IN WHAT DIRECTION TO GO WOULD BE GREAT

I am no expert, but if I had to only use one lure for the rest of my life it would be a small jig (anything would size 10-12) and a waxie. I think you will always catch something using this presentation. If you run out of waxies put on a little sliver of plastic like a wedgie by Little Atom lures.

MCCarp-Ahh yes, you have just started to get the ice fishing bug. Be very carefull, it could consume you.

As stated there are a ton of small jigs on the market today. Custom Jigs and Spins make some great ones, as do Genz. Get an assortment of different colors, some verticle, some horizontle(my fave are the horizontle ones.) Location has more to do with catching fish than the lure does in my opinion. Yet there have been days I have been out there when the lure was as important.

If I had to guess, if you havn't caught any fish... Location has been a bit of a problem. Good electronics will help put fish on the ice as well. Please check out www.IceLeaders.com and check out when a gettogether will be and try and attend one of these events. We usually have quite a few prostaff at these events that can help youget in the right direction!

There are flat out a lot of good jigs and fancy things that can be used out there. However, don't let it overwhelm you until you're prepared to be overwhelmed. I've done quite well on a plain hook with a minnow or maggot.