• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

rebel EOS XT

art

Just got it for a bday gift. Found you can't use the LCD monitor to view your subjext, only the after shot. Is this common in Digital SLR's. I'm new to the digital arena but told my wofe it was the only way to go. I'm old school and only used my wonderful Pentax K1000 until it blew a winder on me and I started buying point and shoots as money was tight. Never liked them but they worked. I want to get back into photography from an artistec point of view. I always had fun shooting B&W and doing the work myself. The reason she got the Canon is because we already had the lenses from her old camera. She always used the program function. I couldn't stand it. Too limiting and lousy shots. I have so much to learn with the digital arena. Any tips for good educational stuff?

You will love that camera. With the DSLR you will not use the LCD to compose the photo. You are using TTL or what they call through the lens technology,which means you will be composing your image directly looking through the lens. Steve most likely can explain it better.I won't post a link but there is a site for Canon users called Photography on the Net or POTN. All kinds of information and it's a great site for sharing your photos.