• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What to know about cold

Since I'm new to the digital world, what do I need to know about cold weather? Can I just pull my camera out of my back pack and start shooting? I do a lot of hiking and may be out in the cold a few hours b4 I find a shot. With my SLR film camera, I just shoot. Same with digital??

I'm no expert but can only relate to a couple of winters and my personal experiences with my digital...I've noticed that the batteries will last only about 50% as long as "normal" (no doubt that depends on how cold it is also)...so....I take extra batteries with me and keep those batteries "warm" in the pockets "inside" my coat or jacket...I also try and not walk around with the camera exposed to the driving wind or elements also(at least I try,and certainly not always possible)...I always take a "zip lock" plastic bag along with me and put the cold camera inside the bag and seal it "before" entering a warm environment(vehicle or home)....I do this to prevent any cronic moisture("fogging")from forming to the inside of the cold camera and lenses...the reason for the plastic bag is the moisture content of the area inside the bag that holds the air's humidity is much less the the ever abundant moisture exposed if the camera were outside and no bag was used...I leave the camera in the plastic bag until I'm sure the camera has had sufficient time to equal the temperature of the warm vehicle or warm room...If a guy doesn't do this ,it'll take alot longer to get the camera to "dry off" and who knows how long it takes for the inside of the camera to quit "sweating" and dry up(and potential damage to the electronic components)....I know this works as I've done it many times and no problems with fogging (lenses or internal parts)....it works for me grin.gif....jonny