• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

camera's

great pics!!

I've been holding off going digital till I saved some coin and could get something good. I'm now ready and am looking at the nikon d70. I've seen some really great phoptos taken with this camera. I'm very much a non-tech kinda person and a friend had told me this may be too difficult a camera for me to use. I admit I'm not the brightest star in the sky and technology overwhelms me. What do you guys think? I've been using a high end 35mm slr for years and do fine. Would I be getting in over my head with the d70?

Thanks

Nope, you wouldn't be getting in over your head. You'd be getting up a good head of steam with the D70. I'm a Canon shooter. Have been since I started shooting at 18. But Nikon makes excelent DSLR cameras. Whichever you go with, it's a switch well worth making, and if you haven't shot much digital, you'll get addicted fast to the instant nature of the format.

Good luck, and have fun with it.

In most cases, the new DSLR bodies work with lenses that were attached to your film camera, if they are the same brand. So if your high-end film camera and its lenses were Nikon, it's cheaper to stay with Nikon DSLR than go to a different brand and have to buy a whole line of new glass.

Conversely, if your film camera is a different brand, and it's a brand that is one of the TOP makers of DSLRs, you may want to consider sticking with that make. The vast majority of DSLR shooters use either Canon or Nikon, because they were the top two in film and have translated that into the top two in digital. I believe Canon has the edge there, but then, I would believe that, wouldn't I?