• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

No more deer

My older brother has about 360 acres of land in north-central Minnesota. The deer hunting there is usually phenomenal. Last year I counted 43 deer on opening morning of rifle season, so I expect to see some every time I go out. I started bowhunting out there about 3 weeks ago and I was seeing plenty of does and a few small bucks. I did blow two chances at some nice does, but this is my first year of bowhunting so I expect to make a few mistakes. The thing is, I had only seen two deer in the past week, and I've been out nearly every day. Last night, I found out why I am not seeing any deer. I was posted just inside the woods on the edge of a clover field that is usually pretty good in the evening. 6:00 rolls around and I still haven't seen anything, and then I see this doe running for all she's worth about 200 yards out in front of me. She crosses the field and goes into the woods on my right. Two minutes later, I look up and see something else heading across the field, but I can't tell what it is. I thought it was maybe a dog or something so I take out my binoculars and have a peek. It's a f%#$#* TIMBERWOLF!!! I watched it run into the woods and low and behold, here comes another one! After I packed up for the night I headed over to my brother's house and told him what I saw, he said that he had heard them the night before howling just inside the woods by his house. He figured they couldn't have been more than 1/4 mile away when he heard them. I suppose I don't have any options here. I know the DNR will trap them if they are killing your livestock, but we don't have any livestock so I guess we're stuck with them. If they don't move out soon, I'm thinking I'll have to find somewhere else to hunt because it seems as if the deer have vacated the area. Any suggestions?