• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

"In the slop" bass

Lunker

For all of you who fish in the milfoil infested lakes, as well as other "slop" weeds, what are your approaches? I know that they harbor some huge bass, but I can never really get in there and pull them out, I always end up fishing the edges and over it with topwaters. Everyone always talks about chunking big jigs through the stuff, but it seems like most of the dump is so thick it can hold big jigs up.

I'm no expert with milfoil, but i think the idea with it is not to try and force the jig through but pitch or flip to pockets and give a near vertical presentation. I think it is a kind of fishing that requires some patience and determination.

My guess is the best way to get good at it would be to convince someone who is really good at it to take you out.

Well Lunker with a user name like that you better be pulling them out. smile.gif

First off gotta have heavy tackle!

I have a 7' 6" Med/Hvy rod. Powerfull bait cast reel, and I'm using 30lb Power Pro for line. I do NOT tie a mono leader as it's slop and most lakes I fish are green water.

Toss out that little froggie as close as you can to shore if not on the shore(hint) then hop that sucka all the way back. Don't go so fast. Make it act like a real frog. (hang it off the lily pad and shake it slighty) Use your imagination! Pump, pause, pump, pump, pause.

Give them an extra second to take it then give it a real hard set. (As Bruce Lee would say, "Put your hip into it")