• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Making Leaders

Hello,

I'm normally in the bass forum, but I thought this topic would be better answered in this forum or the Musky forum. I have been making my own leaders for a few years now for crankbait fishing for bass. I can't stand store bought leaders because of the big bulky cheap hardware. My main question is what wire leader material is most resistant to breaking? I have only had a couple break and I'm thinking it was because they got kinked and I shouldn't have been using them. I've been using AFW 1x7 Surfstrand in 20-40lb test with Gudebrod Heavy Duty Connector Sleeves. The sleeves seem to hold up well and have not failed when crimped. Is there a better leader material or am I on the right track and should just use new ones more often? FM is the closest thing I have to a mentor, I'm learning this stuff on my own so any and all feedback is much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Also, is there a wire leader material that is less shiny than others or a way to dull down the finish on Surfstrand? Thanks.

Are you currently using the camo brown leader material? That is about as tamed down as you can get over the counter.

As far as breaking, usually starts with a kink. Keep an eye on your leaders is probably the best advice. May also want to try fluorocarbon or some of the Tyger leader material.

I assume you that are getting bit off by slimers is the reason why you are using leaders for the bass? If you are targeting large pike and muskie, let us know. Lots of advice available...

I am going to start using tie-able titanium wire when throwing shallow cranks over weed flats on a few lakes this year. Makes me sick when I lose a 6 to 15 buck crank to a pike when bass fishing.

I will be using Terminator brand wire.