• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hi all, just so excited about it I had to make a post.

Brought home a new Beretta Xtrema 3.5 yesterday. I went to Gander with the intention of picking a 10 gauge (I've been shooting 12 gauge 3" at geese for 3 years, and I need more power).

Well, after about 1.5 hours of standing there talking to the gunsmith and 3 other customers buying guns or other stuff, I was convinced that a 12 gauge 3.5" using Hevi Shot was well sufficient.

Held the Xtrema, and I was sold. This gun is so comfortable and well balanced...I can't wait!

boiler, I'll have to do that.

I've hunted Laq qui parle for the past 3 years, it's great fun.

You guys have some serious goose populations in the SW!

Hopefully I down this gun's first goose on the morning of Sept 5, my first outing for Early goose.

Kpj5,

Great news on the new tool. One thing I would make sure of is shoot the gun a little before opening day. The springs can be tight and the action may not be used to opening far enough to eject the long shells.

Also if you go right away and shoot light loads the action may be too stiff to cycle them until you shoot a little and it loosens up. Nothing like going grouse hunting in the afternoon and having the perfect shot at a double and the first shot does not eject. Did that one myself.

Great gun. I hope to get something like that someday.

You should have no problem shooting any load right away. I would recommend cleaning it before your ever shoot though. I had a rep tell me a year or two ago that the grease on the guns (when they are shipped) can be the culprit. It has a higher coefficient of friciton than gun oil.

I've shot berettas for a number of years and love 'em! Good luck to ya!

Thank for the advice guys, I will give it a good take-down cleaning before going out.