• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

How young can you start a Lab???

Quick question for some one with knowledge.
We recently got a Yellow Lab pup (11wks)for our eleven year old, and he wants to teach her to retrieve and so on, how young is to young and are the first commands to start with the basics, sit stay come and so on? I would like to get her to at least flush birds if possible or even retrieve, just want to get a little insight from someone who may have stared their dog in this direction, I went out yesterday and bought him a basic dog book that explains the sit and stay and so one, once he accomplishes this then will it be time to move into the next step?

------------------
Good Luck To All, Wormburner!
Buy a trailer,help support my fishing habit! ***********************

I'm no expert, but I know puupy kindergarden they start them as young as 6 weeks,
but not really sure what they teach you and the dog, my other dog I never took to the kindergarden, I took her to the next class up when she was a few months old, and then its your basic obedience, which as you may already know, should be mastered first before the other.
I did have a trainer also tell me when you start taking them BOTH out hunting to besure an bring the younger one with by itself too later on, so it doesn't become so dependant on the older one.