• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Question on Tree Stands

Lindy Lee

So I am a newbie to the Archery world. My 13 year old daughter has talked about wanting to get into archery off and on for about 3 years. About a month ago I took her to the local archery shop and let her shoot some arrows down the range. Of course I got hooked as well. So for her 13th Birthday we gave her a new bow and all the gear. Bonus was that I was able to purchase a bow and gear for myself as well.

Question is, do you guys hunt with your kids out of a portable tree stand, or do you use ground blinds?

If you do use a tree stands is there a brand that works better for 2 people that is lite?

I plan on talking to some local farmers to see if we can hunt their land next fall, so that we can leave the stand out as I guess these are not something that you want to move around a lot.

Thanks for the replies!

I have taken out my daughters at the age and earlier.

What worked best for us was a double treestand that you can purchase at almost any store, like M.NA..S, Fl..t F.R., Ca..be..., or GM.

The blind does work wonders for movement and keeping them out of the elements.

If you go to the double tree stand, make sure its the big one.

The smaller doubles work ok for gun hunting for 2 people, but archery, I would recommend the most rooom you can get.

Good Luck and Welcome to the wonderful world of Archery

My dad used to set up a portable tree stand for me at that age. Usually only about 6 or so feet off the ground so if I wanted to I could climb down with little danger of hurting myself. We always put our stands up when we are going to hunt and take them down when we leave.