• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hybrid Poplars for quick cover

I have no experience in hybrid poplar plantings.

anyone here have any experience and best practices in doing some plantings with cuttings?

I am looking for quick growing stuff. We have planted several thousand pine trees over the last few years, but they are slow to grow for sure.

So I thought going with some HP I might accent the property a little sooner.

I am looking at a couple blocks of trees and about a half dozen areas I just want to interconnect woodlots with a handful of rows of trees between.

Thoughts? Questions? I am listening. smile

Ottertail County

Soil in general is not real good. Areas to be planted are somewhat "light" for a lack or proper description. Somewhat gravelly as well in areas.

Property is 120 acres. Current cover is mostly hardwoods. We have some pines as you can see from the aerial that were planted in 1988. We have also planted nearly 6000 pines and some berry trees in the mix over the last 4 years.

You may ask,, "Why put Hybrid Poplar in these areas?"

All the other open(grassy) areas already are in CRP tree plantings and WHIP projects.

There are 3 blocks you see, those I want filled with trees. the lines would be a few rows of trees for screens and runways between cover/woods.

aerial.png

Do you have a stewardship plan written for the property? You must if you are enrolled in those programs. A proper stewardship plan will tell you what soil types you have. I assume it is pretty sandy since you have pines in the area.

HP is a good species for providing cover, but lacks in food for critters. It is also pretty maintenance heavy, mowing between the rows to help with competition as the trees get taller.

A good first step would be to call the forester who wrote the plan and see if the practice is recommended or not.