• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

I want to start a couple of food polts on my dads land. We have 60 acres to work with and i have a couple of spots picked out. Im looking to do some smaller plots due to the minimal amount of land, lookin at about 1/2 acre plots max. Im new to this so i have no idea where to start. What im looking to get out of it is of course and attractant but most importantly better nutrition. Im looking to plant something that is gooing to sprout in early spring and stay green all through the 200 day antler growing season as to give the best nutrition i can so we can get some healthier racks. I should also let you know that i hunt agriculture. I usually have either soybeans or corn on the property so theres no shortage of food. Im just lookin for something to grow bigger racks and attract deer to our property seeing how competion on surrounding properties is stiff.

My main questions are 1- What should i plant to get the best nutrition that will grow big racks? 2- What company should i go with? 3- Where can i go to find out more info on how to and when to plant etc.? Any other info would be greatly appreiciated!

I'd say clover is your best bet ---- it can be a bit slow to sprout initially, but it's a perennial so it comes back every year and should be green right away in the spring as soon as the snow melts. And clover is high in nutritional value.

The deer on my place are in my clover spring, summer and fall (there's no agriculture in my area, just forests and food plots).

I like how Whitetail Institutes Imperial Clover does for me, but I've also planted many other less expensive, not "brand name" clovers, and done well with them too. For deer you want a white or especially ladino clover.