• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Making a ice fishing rod?

I would like to make a ice fishing rod but i have no idea where to start.Can anyone point me in the right direction on where to start, keep in mind i have never built any kind of rod before but it is something i have been interested in for a while. Are there any books or videos i could purchase? Are there any stores around the north metro where you can buy the parts for making rods? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mudhole has some videos on basic rod-building techniques. You will have to search their site a bit for it tho. I am not sure if there any on youtube but that would also be a good spot.

You can also ask some specific questions here. There have been a few how to posts here showing some basic stuff too.

Not sure about location but Thorne Bros has a full spread of components and great people to help. You can hand pick your blank and thier brains...

Midwest Rod has everything also...

Mudhole and Netcraft both offer components.

Quite a bit of info and friendly knowledge sitting around here too. grin

And yep, an ice rod can be a real pain for a first build. Finer blanks, smaller guides, and "new" fingers can get frusterating, especially on a noodle type flexy blank. If you do go the ice rod route go for something beefier...

Thanks for the replies, i ordered a catalog from mudhole yesterday and i will check out those other places that dark cloud mentioned. i don't live to far from thorne bros. so i will head over there and pick their brains when i get a chance. Thanks for the help guys!

Leroy,