• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Wireless N routers, what's the difference ?

Valv

I am looking to speedup the wireless connections inside my house.

We have 4 computers, 4 cell phones, 2 TVs, 2 game consoles, all use wireless to some extent. Sometimes to be able to watch a streaming movie I have to "ban" the children from browsing online, downloading, etc.

I am looking at the Wireless N routers, I like Linksys, I've been using them for past 10 years and I am very happy with it.

Do I have to upgrade each system to a wireless N adapter or standard B or G will work as well. How about game consoles, Playstation doesn't have N, right ?

A quick look at the linksys site and it shows the model I pulled up as being backwards compatible with b/g devices.

Something to consider is Wireless-N is not going to make your internet connection any faster. What it will make faster is your internal network, files sharing, music and video sharing between your internal devices are going to be be much faster.

I believe that 'n' routers are typically backward compatible with the 'b' and 'g' standards, so a new router and a new 'n' wireless card for the PC you generally use for streaming may help your bandwidth congestion and the other devices should still work as they do now.

I guess I'm not sure how much difference there is between the different standards when talking speeds. Is 'n' twice as fast as 'g'? It's possible that you have so much going on that it's not so much the router but your available bandwidth coming into the home.

I have a Linksys WRT160N but don't have the "load" you have so I can't say how much it matters. It is compatible with b and g standards as well.

Thanks guys, I knew it was backward compatible, my concern was to get more LAN bandwidth, do I have to get N cards or will it be enough with what I have.