• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Ambush Saddle

FLaker

I have been reading John Eberhart's book "Bow Hunting Pressured Whitetails" and he swears by the Ambush Saddle. He also talks about hunting 25-35 feet up in a tree. I am pretty new to bow hunting so any seasoned veterans want to chime in on this? Ever used an Ambush Saddle? How high do you stand (saddle or portable)?

FLaker

My cousin uses one and likes it a lot. Once you buy the saddle and a bunch of steps he says its well worth the money. If I ever get the money I am going to buy one. and for the versatility since you can go in almost any tree that isnt suitable for a treestand and how portable they can be I think they would be worth it.

I was looking at getting one about 3 years ago and was really skeptical about how well they worked but decided to take the plunge and drop $200 on one. Well worth it! Best stand I own and pretty much the only one I use now. It looks kind of akward but once you sit in one you wonder why you havent been using one all your life. I just like how versatile it is because you can set it up in almost any tree and it only weighs a few pounds and only takes a few minutes to set up. The only complaint I have is the strap that connects you to the tree could get in your way if you had to switch to a shot on the other side of the tree but I havent ran into a problem with it yet and the pluses outweigh the negatives so far. I got the deer in my avatar with my saddle this year, I scouted the land and set up within the same hour and a couple hours after sitting in my stand that guy and a nice 8 and a spike all came within 20 yards and had no idea I was there. I have had a few buddies sit in them for a night hunting and every one that has sat in one has said they are going to buy one as soon as they can so In really think it is a good investment.