• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

jet outboard or jack plate?

warmwaterflyfisher

Does anyone have experience with the jet outboards? I currently have a 1654 tracker grizzle that I run up and down most of the rivers with but cant determin if I should use a small jack plate or upgrade to a 40 hrs jet outboard to allow me more access to the upper mississippe and st. crioux rivers. Any inpute is appreciated.

I spend a lot of time in Alaska and jet outboards are very popular in the rivers up there. I believe there is some loss of power compared to a prop driven outboard with the same HP. I have no experience with jack plates so I can't compare the two for you. Good luck, I'm interested to know what you find out.

In your case I would go with a jet. Jack plates are typically used in higher performance situations where the gearcase is lifted further out of the water to lessen drag. They are often used in conjunction with gearcase nose cones, low water pick ups and props designed to break the surface at high speeds. If I'm assuming correctly, you just want to run in shallower water with out damaging a lower unit, correct?

SWEET INFO. I'm new to the boat game since I fly fish is mostly a wading game. But fly rodding for bass...need a boat. You all gave me GREAT feed back. Now the question can you find a good usedjet drive and how or do you just trad in the new 25hrs prop outboard for a new jet outboard?

I can't thank you enough for the feedback.

I would go with the jet. Get the biggest one you can put on there. If your boat is rated for a 40 hp I would go with a 60/40 ob jet. I have a 115/80 on a roughneck flat bottom that will run as shallow as Kevin turners boats

So you go with the jet HP not the motor HP when figuring maximum HP the boat can handle?

Copied from the CG's site.